Rainy Day Off

I think I care too much about the weather.  It’s completely out of my control and yet I fret about it all the time.  Some days still stick in my memory…..rare New England summer days that I describe as California days….hot and dry, cloudless blue sky.  That’s weather perfection to me.   But I get caught up in it, and I don’t like that.

I have a vacation day scheduled for tomorrow; the forecast is calling for rain.  One went so far as to use the word “washout”.   If a vacation day from work is not one spent outside in sunshine I think of it as wasted.  I considered canceling but I thought about the day I have planned with my friend.  She’ll be away next week, and another week after that in July.   Who knows when we’ll next get to spend a day together with nothing on the agenda?   So now I’m thinking of how we can enjoy this day that somehow involves the outdoors, or maybe bringing a bit of the outdoors….in.   I will post again and let you know what the day brings.

I didnt have any pictures of a rainy day, so I decided to use this one that I took recently to illustrate what a California sky looks like, for anyone who’s never seen one.  This pic was taken at the Clark Cooke House, one of my favorite spots in Newport.

Image

Posted on June 28, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Don’t fret…you will see hazy sunshine by early afternoon. I promise. Not a “California” day, but certainly not a washout. I remember a fascinating day at Cooke House! Have fun.

  2. You have this site on Pacific time.

  3. I meant to do that. It is my homage to California Days.

Leave a Reply

