Block Island

I feel blessed to live so close to Block Island.  If you’ve never been, go.   It’s a physically beautiful place, named one of The Last Great Places by The Nature Conservancy.   It wouldn’t be so lovely and unspoiled if not for the tenacious islanders who saved it from overdevelopment in the 1960s and 70s.  You can read an excellent series of articles on the matter here.   You can read about some of my favorite places to eat and drink in my Yelp reviews.   I took these pictures the last time I was there.  I’ll admit I was playing fast and loose with the “super vivid” setting on my camera.

This is The Spring House.  Home of peanut butter mudslides, refreshing ocean breezes and it is rumored to be the birthplace of Baby Jesus.

057

The adirondack chairs in the picture above?  Here’s the view from those seats:

058

New Harbor is the other side of the island, home of The Oar and this darling little shack.

045

And there’s something about this scene which sums up Block Island for me:062

Posted on July 15, 2013, in Block Island, Rhode Island, Summer. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

