Little House in the Big Woods

Something tells me only girls will get that reference, I don’t think many boys read the first book in the Little House (on the Prairie) series.   I don’t know if those books are why I love log cabins, but I do.  I was lucky enough to spend the weekend in one in northern NH.  It was just like the olden days….woodstove, oil lamps, board games….and wifi and iPhones.  I loved every minute of it.   Head north of Route 302 on Twin Mountain and you’ll pass a sign that says “Welcome To The Great North Woods”.   It’s mostly pretty, piney and rural, with the exception of the touristy splotches of Santa’s Village and Six Gun City, and a handful of down-at-the-heels tenements in the few small towns up that way….Whitefield, Littleton and Lancaster.   Right around the corner from the cabin is the Mountain View Grand Hotel in Whitefield.  The hotel dates from the late 1800s, closed in 1986 and reopened in 2002 after a $20 million renovation.

Image

On Saturday we went down towards Bretton Woods to meet some friends for a drink at the Mount Washington Hotel.  The view as you approach on Rt 302 is breathtaking, and never gets old.  Check out the dog-sledders in the foreground.

Image

While we were there the light changed….it turned rosy pink and flooded the valley.  You could even see the buildings on the top of Mount Washington, which I zoomed in on in the second picture.   It lasted about 5-7 minutes ….I’ve never seen anything like it.

Image

Image

I know I said in my last post that I was hoping for signs of spring…..nothing yet, but it was a mild weekend, the first 50 degree days we’ve seen in I don’t know how long.  That’ll have to do for now!

Posted on February 24, 2014, in New Hampshire and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

