The Summer Solstice and a Cool New Website

A discovery I made recently is the website Jauntful.  It’s an easy way to create your own travel guides and a perfect fit for this blog.  I’m hopeful they will soon create a widget for WordPress like the Yelp one to the right of this post.   In the meantime, I’ll embed links to individual guides as they relate to what I’m posting about.  I will try to put aside my resentment at not having invented this website myself.

A couple of weeks ago I visited the village of Padanaram in Dartmouth MA; I had forgotten how beautiful this corner of Massachusetts is.  Recently there’s been a push to expand tourism in the region, complete with snappy nicknames (SouthCoast!  FarmCoast!) and some polished social media:  Discover Farmcoast and their blog.   This might be the perfect daytrip, and there is more than enough to make a long weekend out of it.  I would suggest starting in Padanaram (Faunce Corner Road exit off 195, just before New Bedford), if it’s lunchtime try the Black Bass Grille.   Head west along the coastal roads to take in Horseneck Beach, and stops at Buzzards Bay Brewing and Westport Rivers Winery.   If you can time it right, you won’t regret dinner at The Back Eddy.  Fresh, local seafood with a Portuguese slant.

A doorway in Padanaram –

Padanaram door

The deck at the Back Eddy –

Back Eddy Deck

From The Back Eddy follow Adamsville Road into Rhode Island, and the towns of Little Compton & Tiverton.  Tiverton Four Corners is an historic crossroads with a few pretty shops, a couple of art galleries, some of RI’s best ice cream at Gray’s, and a fantastic cheese shop.  In between you’ll find rolling fields, stone walls & farm stands.

A place I’m lucky to be able to spend a lot of time in is Sandwich, MA, one of the prettiest towns on the Cape.  These pics were taken from the boardwalk….I’ve decided I need to swim here at some point this summer:

Sandwich Boardwalk 1

Sandwich Boardwalk 2

A rosé tasting on the deck – Les Dauphins won hands down, although I freely admit I bought them based on how pretty the labels were.

Rose at the cape

A late spring tradition is the Fields of Lupine Festival in Sugar Hill, NH (home of Polly’s Pancake Parlor!).   Spring was late this year so the flowers weren’t as abundant as in years past, but it was still pretty.

Lupines

I’ll leave you with a picture of Bristol (RI) Harbor, sunset on the longest day of the year.

Solstice Sunset Bristol RI

Posted on June 25, 2014, in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

