Orange you glad foliage season is over?

No?  Well, you will be soon.

This post is All Connecticut All The Time.  I didn’t intend it to be, it just happened.  One of my favorite places in CT is Sharpe Hill Winery in Pomfret.  Classic New England:

Sharpe Hill Sign Sharpe Hill2

This area of northeastern CT is known as The Quiet Corner, and also The Last Green Valley.   If you were to fly over New England at night, this area is the only place from DC to Maine that is in darkness, it’s truly rural.

Right around the corner is The Golden Lamb Buttery, a highly regarded restaurant that has been in the same family for generations.  I pulled over to take a couple of pictures and realized a wedding was going on.  You couldn’t ask for a nicer setting, the only incongruous note was hearing that horrid song “Happy” blaring out of the barn.  This beautiful guy coming over to say hello made up for it.

Golden Lamb2

Golden Lamb1

This fall the abandoned village of Johnsonville CT has been getting a lot of press after it was announced it would be auctioned off in October.  Oh if only I could get my hands on $3M!!   I wasn’t able to buy it but I was able to visit and take pictures.

JVille1

Jville2 Jville 3

002

jville pond

I’ve always heard of Gillette Castle but never got around to going.  Wow, I was really missing something!  The castle is cool although it was closed for the season and we didn’t get to go inside.  But the real star of the show are the grounds which have become a state park, with amazing views of the Connecticut River.

Gillette Castle 2

Gillette Castle

Driving home I saw this cool old barn:

CT Barn

Now for a couple of Rhode Island pictures.  As I got closer to home the light was really cool and I saw a lot of nice foliage in Acotes Hill Cemetery in Chepachet, so I had to pull in.  I love a good cemetery.

Acotes Hill 1

Acotes hill 2

Hard to believe the holidays are almost upon us.  In my next post I’ll list some holiday events in case you’re looking for things to do.  Stay tuned!

Posted on November 11, 2014, in Connecticut, General Sightseeing, New England Wineries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I visited Johnsonville in Christmas 1987 with my mother. It was open to the public and all decked out with decorations. We had hot mulled cider.

Leave a Reply

