A VERY LONG OVERDUE SUMMER WRAP UP

Yes, I know how crazy that sounds on October 25th, but I had some leftover pics I needed to get out of my camera and phone.  The first one is a dock at New Harbor, on the Great Salt Pond on Block Island.  The one below it is the view from the outside bar at the Surf Hotel on Block.  The Surf was empty and decaying for several years, up for sale with no takers.  The owners chose to take  it off the market and refurbish.  The view of Crescent Beach from the back deck is, in my opinion, one of the best on the entire island.  No small thing on an island loaded with stunning views.

block dock surf bar

When I look at this picture of the bar at The National Hotel on Block, I hear Kate Smith singing God Bless America

natl bar

Coming home on the ferry the first week of September, there was no denying that summer was over:

shipyard filter

A year or two ago I went through a phase of filtering all my photos.  I assured you all that it was behind me, but I’m like a junkie, I can’t stop.   The first two are a field in Tiverton, right down the road from Tiverton Four Corners:

tiverton2 filter tiverton1 filter

The images below are, in order:  East Sandwich Beach, Cape Cod; view from The Oar, Block Island; Hyannis Harbor, Cape Cod.

sandwich filter oar dock filter

hyannis filter

The next two are Galilee, Rhode Island:

galillee filter galillee 2 filter

Another view of New Harbor, Block Island.

block ferry filterThe Atlantic on Block Island, at dusk:

atlantic filter

Sunset on Ninigret Pond, Charlestown RI:

charlestown

The Spring House, Block Island…one of my favorite places on earth.  I love how spooky it looks here!

spring house filter

The Hot Club from the water, courtesy of Providence Riverboat Company:

hot club

Evelyn’s Drive-In, a clam shack in Tiverton, RI:

evelyns dock filter

And lastly, here’s a little segue into fall…..

still river filter

Posted on October 25, 2015, in Block Island, General Sightseeing, Rhode Island, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

